Diane Arbus

(14. März 1923 in New York City als Diane Nemerov; † 26. Juli 1971 in Greenwich Village, New York)

First that Vivian Maier-thing and now Diane Arbus. Im investigating in the photography history:-). Diane Arbus is very special to me! Maybe because she was a real ISFP and the fact that she was born on the 14.March. A day after my own birthday. So she’s some kind of a soulsister! 

I can tell just when I look at that picture. Only ISFP’s take things in their mouth while working. We do this all the time, because we don’t have the time to put it somewhere else:-) And thus it’s feels so natural to us! We have two hands, two feeds and a mouth. We use ‚em as our tools to get things done! Plus: After listening to some audiotapes of Arbus I can state with confidence that she really fit in the ISFP-boat.

Just to get things right: I don’t want to put myself in the light of a master in photography, and I don’t want to compare myself with her either. I just think her life and path as artist very interesting and inspiring! And the fact, that even shy ISFP’s can become successful with photography.

Anyway…

Lets‘ focus on Arbus again: Throughout the 1960s, Diane Arbus was a well-known artistic figure in New York City. Arbus did not like to arrange her photographs. She was of the belief that “I never have taken a picture I’ve intended. They’re always better or worse.” She arranged herself to meet the needs of the subject, rather than arranging the subject to meet her needs. She made an effort to be personable with her subjects. And usually they would appreciate that. By doing this, Arbus was able to remove the public facade that these people would typically drape over themselves, and capture the true personality of her subject. She always had the attention of her subjects: in almost every portrait they’re looking directly at the camera, so that when someone sees the picture, they see it as though they’re looking right at them, and they can see who these people really are. They can’t do that when they see these people on the street. In that case, prejudice gets in the way.

She would not only photograph the unusual and the marginal, however. Many of her photos capture the ordinary. Her photos include ones such as a couple on a park bench, and one of an elderly woman riding a bus. It goes to show that Diane Arbus had a variety to her work, even though there was an overarching main idea which she had in all the photographs that she took. Commercial photography captured the glamorous and the larger-than-life, but Diane Arbus instead wanted to bring light to the ordinary and the things that slipped under the radar.

Click on that picture to see what she actually photographed! 

 cropped-winogrand-diane-arbus-love-in-central-park-new-york

Copyright: Diane Arbus Photography

What you can learn from Arbus:

“The more specific you are, the more general it’ll be.”

“A photograph is a secret about a secret. The more it tells you the less you know.”

“I never have taken a picture I intended. They’re always better or worse.”

“I work from awkwardness. By that I mean I don’t like to arrange things. If I stand in front of something, instead of arranging it, I arrange myself.”

“My favorite thing is to go where I’ve never been.”

Kommentar verfassen

